Databases for Art
For more Art resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
AATA Online - Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (1932 - Present)
A comprehensive database of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
AP Images (1826 - Present)
AP Images contains contemporary and historical (to 1800s) news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a collection of graphics (e.g., maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).
Art Full Text (1984 - Present)
Indexing and selected full text for arts publications worldwide. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Indexes English language arts periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and more.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ArtSEARCHLogin required. See a librarian for access.
Access current job postings relating to theatre and the arts.
Interdisciplinary digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930s - Present)
Indexes articles on architectural design, history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, etc. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
The Beazley Archive at Oxford University is a definitive source for the study of Greek vases. Search and view selected items from the world's largest collection of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery.
BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art (1975 - 2008)
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
British Periodicals I and II (1680s - 1930s)
A collection of searchable, digital facsimile pages from British journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Dadabase - The Museum of Modern Art (1880 - Present)
Online catalog of The Museum of Modern Art Library and Study Centers, with selected holdings of the Museum Archives.
Film Literature Index (1976 - 2001)
Indexes film and television periodicals from a number of countries. Both popular and scholarly materials are indexed. Current articles are not indexed.
Thesauri and vocabulary for art, architecture, culture, and geographic names.
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Archive of medieval Christian art with specialized resources for the iconographer.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
A comprehensive resource on art including Grove Art Online and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications.
Contains hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
A digital library of the classical world. Includes classical texts in translation that can be searched online, as well as links to museum images of architecture, sculpture, and vases.
Comprehensive coverage of current publications in the visual and applied arts. Includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Cross-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for 21,000 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
A searchable database of over 80,000 images and digital materials, including works of art, photographs, maps, and primary source documents. Key collections include the VRC Art & Architecture Collection and Reed Senior Theses.
Searchable archive of the important fashion magazine. Advertisements are included and images are keyword indexed.
Fulltext version of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon. Information on artists worldwide, active from antiquity to the present. Entries in German, but good for information about less well-known artists.