Databases for Chinese
For more Chinese resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
China Data Online (1982 - Present)
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
China Academic Journals is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese language journals throughout the world.
The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China gathers all the most important classics from ancient China to Qing Dynasty including works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images. It was originally published in print in 1726.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Mango Higher Education Edition is an online language program for universities and colleges. It includes a variety of oral exercises and other resources to help students gain practical conversation skills and cultural insight for the world’s most common languages. Mango login information
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries.
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - 1995)
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
Includes full-text of twelve English-language Chinese historical newspapers from 1832 to 1953.
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
The Siku Quanshu (SKQS) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and more. Library PCs have the SKQSclient.exe program installed. To install it on your own PC, click on the setup.exe download link on the home page.