Databases for English


For more English resources, try our subject guides.

  • Data source
  • Streaming music/media
  • Image collection
  • Primary source collection
  • EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon

An index to critical books, articles, book reviews, critical editions, etc. on all aspects and periods of English literature.  Part of Literature Online.
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Annual selective and evaluative survey of the year's important scholarship. Also available in print 1963 - present (Ref PS3 .A47, last ten years in Reference, earlier years in Stacks)
Offers full-text access to political speeches, sermons, interviews, legal proceedings and other examples of rhetorical speech, sometimes also including audio and video clips.
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present.  Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
A collection of searchable, digital facsimile pages from British journals.  Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Searchable, annotated version of Ben Jonson's works, accompanied by supporting essays and archival materials.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
A survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and key texts. Also contains biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
 Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors
Includes entries on the plays and the major characters, on Shakespeare's life and his contemporaries, on actors, and on theatres and directors.
Focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present.
Online access to dramatic texts from a wide variety of playwrights, selected critical texts, and production stills.
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
The Text Creation Partnership is a project working to create standardized, digitally-encoded editions of early print books.  The EEBO-TCP includes searchable text versions of much of the content in EEBO.
A full text, searchable, digital facsimile collection of over 180,000 titles.  Includes books, pamphlets, essays and more.
95 journals covering all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary survey of the art of persuasion.
Indexes books and letterpress items printed before 1801 in the British Isles, Colonial America, the early United States of America, Canada, or territories governed by England as well as items published elsewhere in the world in English.
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for select journals and books. Includes over 36,300 images from the Motion Picture & Television image archive.
Two databases in one.  Search the American Film Institute Catalog for information about American feature films produced up to 1973.  Includes full production and cast information, plot summaries and production notes.  Search Film Index International for citations for journal articles relating to film studies.      
Film Literature Index (1976 - 2001)
Indexes film and television periodicals from a number of countries.  Both popular and scholarly materials are indexed.  Current articles are not indexed.      
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Primary source material and images that document the history of Jewish communities in America from the 17th century until the mid-20th century.
All manuscripts and editions of Milton's works and all critical studies about his life and work.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.  Part of the Documenting the American South, a digital publishing initiative.
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
Literary biographies and essays about historical and literary events.
Searchable resource for full text of many literary works, literary criticism, biographies, work and topic overviews, and reviews.
Mango Higher Education Edition is an online language program for universities and colleges. It includes a variety of oral exercises and other resources to help students gain practical conversation skills and cultural insight for the world’s most common languages. Mango login information
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Biographical information about around 60,000 men and women important to British history.
Gives the meaning, pronunciation and history of over 500,000 words.  It traces a word's first recorded usage through quotations from many sources from different time periods.
Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries.
Shakespeare's plays with scholarly annotations that interpret and explain the text.
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Shakespeare Survey Online (1948 - Present)
Annual anthology of international scholarship relating to Shakespeare studies and production.  Full text access; also available through Cambridge Collections Online.
Short Story Index (1984 - Present)
Index to more than 96,000 stories, including the full text of over 4,000 stories, written in or translated into English, published in more than 4,200 collections and anthologies, and selected periodicals.
Searchable archive of book reviews that appeared in the Times Literary Supplement (TLS).
Contains the full text of 2,500 twentieth-century plays in English from around the world.
Digital collection of fulltext comic books and graphic novels, from the 1960s to present.
Covers popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, including magic shows, vaudeville, and circuses.
Contains a searchable database of all editions of "Leaves of Grass" published during Whitman's lifetime, a biography,  an annotated bibliography of Whitman scholarship from 1975, and much more.
Women Writers Online (1400 - 1850) primary source/historical document collection
A digital collection of texts by pre-Victorian women writers.
Comprehensive database of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.