Databases for French
For more French resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ARTFL: A Textual Database (17th Century - 20th Century)
Consists of nearly 3,000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are equally represented. Also included are historical dictionaries and the Diderot Encyclopédie.
Index of searchable, full text French and French-language digital libraries
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Cairn includes French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities as well as a large multidisciplinary collection of French reference works in the section titled Encyclopedies de Poche.
A fulltext resource for French literature, literary criticism, art, and history.
Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
A historical (1552) French-Latin dictionary. Part of the ARTFL French language resource.
Searchable, digital materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and more) from the collections of the BnF.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (300-1500) (1967 - Present)
Access to scholarly publications on all aspects of medieval studies.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance: Iter Bibliography (1784 - Present)
Provides subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700).
The online edition Kristeller's Iter Italicum, a comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued classical, medieval and Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Online version of the authoritative French dictionary
Mango Higher Education Edition is an online language program for universities and colleges. It includes a variety of oral exercises and other resources to help students gain practical conversation skills and cultural insight for the world’s most common languages. Mango login information
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries.
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - 1995)
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.