Databases for Government Documents
For more Government Documents resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
American FactFinder (1990 - Present)
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
American State Papers (1789 - 1838)
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. Does not include House and Senate journals.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976 - Present)
Public government documents distributed to libraries.
FDsys (1937 - Present)
U.S. Government Documents.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) (1913 - Present)
Thousands of U.S. economic data time series available as text or Excel downloads.
Provides full-text access to the 20th century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) 1957-1994 (1957 - 1994)
JPRS is a government organization that supplies translations of unclassified foreign documents for government agencies. Documents include periodical articles, military reports, statistics, scholarly journal articles, and others.
Bills, statutes, and regulations from U.S. state governments.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
PAIS International (1915 - Present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and government documents relating to the study of politics and public affairs.
Cross-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for 21,000 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
ProQuest Congressional (1789 - Present)
Congressional documents, including bills, statues, hearings, reports, and legislative histories.
Search across multiple collections including America's Historical Newspapers, America’s Historical Imprints, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports and World Newspaper Archive.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817 - 1980)
Searchable collection of historical government publications.