Databases for Humanities
For more Humanities resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Digital collection of thousands of fully searchable, full text electronic books from scholarly publishers.
Interdisciplinary digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
A searchable full text collection of Blackwell's companion reference books for classics.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
This digital archive offers hundreds of thousands of pages of letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials from 1120 to 1660. Gift of Burton Onstine, '54.
Cairn includes French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities as well as a large multidisciplinary collection of French reference works in the section titled Encyclopedies de Poche.
China Academic Journals is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese language journals throughout the world.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
An interdisciplinary resource for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary survey of the art of persuasion.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
John Milton Bibliography (1624 - 1799)
All manuscripts and editions of Milton's works and all critical studies about his life and work.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
A collection of cross-searchable reference titles, such as The Oxford Classical Dictionary, Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, and Who's Who in the Classical World. Some entries contain bibliographies.
Contains hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
A digital library of the classical world. Includes classical texts in translation that can be searched online, as well as links to museum images of architecture, sculpture, and vases.
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
Cross-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for 21,000 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
A searchable database of over 80,000 images and digital materials, including works of art, photographs, maps, and primary source documents. Key collections include the VRC Art & Architecture Collection and Reed Senior Theses.