Databases for Linguistics
For more Linguistics resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
CogNet (2000 - Present)
Indexes articles, reference books, and other literature concerning the human including materials from cognitive psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, artificial intelligence, psychology, and education.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
COHA allows you to quickly and easily search more than 400 million words of text of American English from 1810 to 2009. You can see how words, phrases and grammatical constructions have increased or decreased in frequency, how words have changed meaning over time, and how stylistic changes have taken place in the language. It's a lot more than just frequency charts for individual words and phrases.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies.
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - Present)
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Description: A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
Linguistics Abstracts Online (1985 - Present)
Online access to more than 50,000 abstracts from nearly 600 linguistics journals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973 - Present)
Index to international literature in linguistics covering all aspects of the study of language. Over 1500 journals are indexed along with books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Mango Higher Education Edition is an online language program for universities and colleges. It includes a variety of oral exercises and other resources to help students gain practical conversation skills and cultural insight for the world’s most common languages. Mango login information
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - 1995)
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
Cross-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for 21,000 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.