Databases for Sociology
For more Sociology resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
American FactFinder (1990 - Present)
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature on law and the social sciences.
Annual Review of Sociology (1975 - Present)
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in sociology.
Interdisciplinary digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
CNTS Data Archive is a longitudinal dataset of over 200 variables, some going back to 1815, covering over 200 countries. Initially a project to collect the data from the Statesman's Yearbook into a format suitable for quantitative analysis, CNTS continues to grow with new data. Variables cover such topics as government expenditure, trade, infrastructure and media, domestic conflict event data, elections, legislative process, numerous political measures and international status indicators.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
Finding aid for statistical web sites and data series produced by more than 100 agencies of the federal government.
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
Thesauri and vocabulary for art, architecture, culture, and geographic names.
HeinOnline is a research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history and law journals available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
Data archive for social scientists. Reed community members may download data and documentation. Proficiency in a statistical program such as STATA, SPSS, or SAS is needed to use these data sets.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Contains hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Polling the Nations (1986 - Present)
Public opinion survey results from U.S. and international news sources and polling organizations.
Cross-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for 21,000 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (1974 - Present)
Finding aid for statistics published by governments, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (1930 - Present)
Archive of public opinion survey data. See quick snapshots of public opinion or download data sets.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
A collection of datasets and how-to guides to support the teaching and learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. Datasets can be searched or browsed by method, discipline, or data type.
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
Social Explorer (1790 - Present)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1898 - Present)
Abstracts and citation searching of articles from high-impact academic journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers.
Download data and create charts based on data sets from government, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
WestlawNext provides access to U.S. and international law sources. Access includes: legal encyclopedias, cases, statutes and legislative materials, and law reviews.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013)
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.