Databases & Other Catalogs

To access these resources from off campus you will need to use the Remote Access proxy.
Not sure which database is right for you? Or try one of these multidisciplinary databases:
  • Data source
  • Streaming music/media
  • Image collection
  • Primary source collection
  • EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
  • Mobile version
  • iPhone/iPad app
  • Android app
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z |

A

A comprehensive database of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
An index to critical books, articles, book reviews, critical editions, etc. on all aspects and periods of English literature.  Part of Literature Online.
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Access World News (1985 - present)
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers.  Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century American Newspapers including the African American Newspapers collection.
Digital collection of thousands of fully searchable, full text electronic books from scholarly publishers.
Searchable and browseable access to ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
Full text access to Society's journals.
Acta Santorum (1643 - 1940)
A collection of documents (primarily in Latin, some in Greek) on the lives of Christian saints. The database contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published from 1643 to 1940 by the Société des Bollandistes. Can be cross searched with the Patrologia Latina database.
AGRICOLA (1970 - Present)
Index of materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, especially government and agency reports. Includes botany, entomology, forestry, natural resources, and plant diseases.
Online access to materials from the archives of folklorist and ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax, including rare and unique sound recordings, videos, and photographs.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
America: History and Life (1964 - Present)
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Allows you to search by historical period. For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.
American FactFinder (1990 - Present) data source
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
Annual selective and evaluative survey of the year's important scholarship. Also available in print 1963 - present (Ref PS3 .A47, last ten years in Reference, earlier years in Stacks)
Biographical info about 17,400 American men and women. Updated semi-annually.
American Periodicals (1740 - 1900) primary source/historical document collection
Digitized page images from over 1000 American magazines from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Offers full-text access to political speeches, sermons, interviews, legal proceedings and other examples of rhetorical speech, sometimes also including audio and video clips.
Streaming audio, various genres of traditional American music.  Included are songs of the civil rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, etc.  Also available through Music Online.  
American State Papers (1789 - 1838) primary source/historical document collection
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. Does not include House and Senate journals.
Full digital access to the Early American Imprints Series I, II, and supplements. 36,000 titles on 17th and 18th century American life. Includes most books printed anywhere during that time period about America.
Includes articles from early American newspapers. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles. Includes full text of the Oregonian 1861-1971.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in anthropology.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature on law and the social sciences.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in political science.
Annual Review of Sociology (1975 - Present)
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in sociology.
Annual Reviews (1930 - Present)
Full text access to Annual Reviews publications in 40 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. Synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in a given field. Coverage dates back to the first volume, which varies for each publication.
AnthropologyPlus (Early 1800 - Present)

Combines the two major anthropology literature databases, Anthropological Literature (U.S.) and Anthropological Index (U.K.). Indexes journal articles and other academic publications owned by Harvard's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute.

AnthroSource (1888 - Present)
Searchable digital collection of publications of the American Anthropological Association.
AP Images (1826 - Present) streaming music/mediaimages
AP Images contains contemporary and historical (to 1800s) news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a collection of graphics (e.g., maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).
ArchiveFinder (1959 - Present)
Directory of collections held in thousands of repositories of archival material in the US, UK, and Ireland. Formerly known as ArchivesUSA.
Topic-focused digital collections of historical documents.
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
Art Full Text (1984 - Present)
Indexing and selected full text for arts publications worldwide.  In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Indexes English language arts periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and more.
ARTFL: A Textual Database (17th Century - 20th Century)
Consists of nearly 3,000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.  The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are equally represented.  Also included are historical dictionaries and the Diderot Encyclopédie.
ArticleFirst (1990 - Present)
Contains citations for articles from scholarly and trade publications in a number of subjects (humanities, social sciences, sciences, business, and medicine).
ArtSEARCHLogin required. See a librarian for access.
Access current job postings relating to theatre and the arts.
Interdisciplinary digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
Astrophysics Data System (1975 - Present)
A digital library of astronomy and astrophysics. Includes electrical engineering, geophysics, physics, and instrumentation, as they are all loosely related to astronomy and astrophysics. Free From NASA.
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
Indexes articles on architectural design, history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, etc. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

B

The Beazley Archive at Oxford University is a definitive source for the study of Greek vases.  Search and view selected items from the  world's largest collection of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery.
Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion.  Also includes images from V&A Museum's internationally renowned fashion collection and other sources.
Full text of Brecht's poetry, drama, and critical works.
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
The largest and most authoritative bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies.
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Also available 1971-1985 in print (Ref DS5 .B53).
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th Century - Present)
Books and journal literature on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Index of searchable, full text French and French-language digital libraries
Open access publisher of  a number of medical and biological journals.  Most of the content is available without a connection to the Reed network.
BioOne (2000 - Present)
Collection of biological journals from small, non-commercial publishers or scientific societies.  Focuses on biology, ecology, and environmental science.
BIOSIS Citation Index (1926 - Present)
The most comprehensive biological database, covering a large range and number of bioscience journals and other publications with cited reference searching.
A searchable full text collection of Blackwell's companion reference books for classics.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the sciences from 2005 to present.  Books are connected to the greater citation indexes of the arts & humanities and social sciences.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present.  Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Bibliographic resource containing 5 million books, audio books, and video titles currently in print. Also contains short biographies of authors.
Provides over 75,000 articles including 23,000 biographies, headlines from major newspapers and full-text articles from over 700 magazines.  Rich with graphics, multimedia and an extensive world atlas.
A collection of searchable, digital facsimile pages from British journals.  Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Academic and news articles on companies, business, and industries. Includes company profiles.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

C

Cairn includes French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities as well as a large multidisciplinary collection of French reference works in the section titled Encyclopedies de Poche.
Full text access to "Cambridge companion to. . ." books in the areas of literature, music, classics, philosophy, religion, and culture.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Public government documents distributed to libraries.
China Data Online (1982 - Present) data source
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
A source for brief reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources.
Books, articles, working papers, and case studies on international affairs from Columbia University Press.
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Streaming audio, primarily classical music.  Also available through Music Online.  
A fulltext resource for French literature, literary criticism, art, and history.
A survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and key texts. Also contains biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
China Academic Journals is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese language journals throughout the world. 
CogNet (2000 - Present)
Indexes articles, reference books, and other literature concerning the human including materials from cognitive psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, artificial intelligence, psychology, and education.
Indexes articles in academic journals and trade magazines in communications and mass media. Full text articles for many sources.
Citations to published literature from many significant conferences in the sciences. Ability to search by keyword, author, and cited references make this an important tool for research.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
 Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors
Streaming audio, genres such as reggae, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz.  Also available through Music Online.  
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Present)
Archive of weekly magazine on government and particularly congressional activity.
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Indexes the mathematical statistical literature.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

D

Online catalog of The Museum of Modern Art Library and Study Centers, with selected holdings of the  Museum Archives.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
Search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.
A searchable database comprised of: 1) dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, 2) dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and 3) historical Latin dictionaries.
A historical (1552) French-Latin dictionary. Part of the ARTFL French language resource.
Includes entries on the plays and the major characters, on Shakespeare's life and his contemporaries, on actors, and on theatres and directors.
Focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present.
Comprehensive resource for German poetry from the 15th century to the beginning of the 20th century.
An interdisciplinary resource for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Streaming audio from New World Records and other labels, primarily contemporary American music.  
Online access to dramatic texts from a wide variety of playwrights, selected critical texts, and production stills.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

E

Full digital access to many American newspapers. Covering American studies
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
The Text Creation Partnership is a project working to create standardized, digitally-encoded editions of early print books.  The EEBO-TCP includes searchable text versions of much of the content in EEBO.
Indexes full text for some journals Reed subscribes to.
EconLit (1969 - Present)
Academic journal articles, books, and working papers in economics.
Summaries and primary documents on prehistoric cultures, searchable by region, country, and cultural characteristics.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
A full text, searchable, digital facsimile collection of over 180,000 titles.  Includes books, pamphlets, essays and more.
95 journals covering all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life.
Collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies.
Provides contact information and descriptions for multinational and national groups based throughout the world, as well as multinational associations headquartered in the U.S.
Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Covers more than 23, 000 organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary survey of the art of persuasion.
Indexes books and letterpress items printed before 1801 in the British Isles, Colonial America, the early United States of America, Canada, or territories governed by England as well as items published elsewhere in the world in English.
Online access to complete runs of major trade publications in the film, entertainment, and music industries.  Titles include Billboard, Variety, Spin, Back Stage, etc.
Environment Abstracts (1975 - Present)
Provides access to more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.  Formerly Lexis Nexis Environmental.
Environmentally-related coverage from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning.
ERIC (1966 - Present)
Indexes literature related to education including articles, documents, research reports, instructional materials, position papers, and more.
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

F

Fast and comprehensive identification and assessment of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians. F1000Prime provides researchers with a personalized literature service using a collection of innovative tools and resources.
FDsys (1937 - Present)
U.S. Government Documents.
Finding aid for statistical web sites and data series produced by more than 100 agencies of the federal government.
Feminae (1990 - Present)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The index is not complete but is growing.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for select journals and books. Includes over 36,300 images from the Motion Picture & Television image archive.
Two databases in one.  Search the American Film Institute Catalog for information about American feature films produced up to 1973.  Includes full production and cast information, plot summaries and production notes.  Search Film Index International for citations for journal articles relating to film studies.      
Film Literature Index (1976 - 2001)
Indexes film and television periodicals from a number of countries.  Both popular and scholarly materials are indexed.  Current articles are not indexed.      
Very current legal news headlines and blogs.  Includes browse by legal topics feature.
Over 10 million full-text articles that support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
Thousands of U.S. economic data time series available as text or Excel downloads.
Covers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

G

Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
Searchable, digital materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and more) from the collections of the BnF.
Comprehensive overview of musical traditions worldwide.
Gender Studies Database (1972 - Present)
Includes Women's Studies International, the primary research database for women's studies, and the Men's Studies database. Indexes "gender-engaged scholarship."
The leading source for primary documents concerning women's history. Includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals having to do with the development of feminist thought and the women's rights movement.
Thesauri and vocabulary for art, architecture, culture, and geographic names.
Gnomon Online (1997 - Present)
An international index to classical studies with a German interface, but containing indexed content in English and many other languages. The online version primarily indexes publications from 1997 to present. Useful for finding current articles and reviews.
Searchable full text of all of Goethe's literary and scientific works, as well as his diaries and letters.
The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China gathers all the most important classics from ancient China to Qing Dynasty including works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images. It was originally published in print in 1726.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

H

Published annually, this handbook is a selective bibliography of the most important articles in the field of Latin American Studies.
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, documents, literary works about Central and South America throughout the world.
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922, with a goal of approximately 150,000 pages freely available online in the first two years (2009-2011)
The standard source for statistical information about American history.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

I

Data archive for social scientists. Reed community members may download data and documentation. Proficiency in a statistical program such as STATA, SPSS, or SAS is needed to use these data sets.
Index Islamicus (1906 - Present)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Updated annually.
Archive of medieval Christian art with specialized resources for the iconographer.
Provides citations to publications dealing with general and economic botany as well as extant and fossil American plants and fungi. Including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology.
A comprehensive database representing religious scholarship across various languages and disciplines. Articles are classified into three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions.
INSPEC (1898 - Present)
The premier database for physics. Covers journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical & electronic engineering, computing, and information technology.
Indexing for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance.  Selected full text.      
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is a comprehensive resource covering major philosophical and religious traditions, topics, movements, arguments, and figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics.
Select and download indicators from the International Monetary Fund.
Citations and selected full text from music journals and other periodicals. Especially good for locating reviews, obituaries, articles from popular news sources (ex: Rolling Stone).      
Citations and selected full text for journal articles and other periodicals relating to dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art.      
Access to scholarly publications on all aspects of medieval studies.
Provides subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700).
The online edition  Kristeller's Iter Italicum, a comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued classical, medieval and Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

J

Streaming audio.  Jazz performances covering a variety of styles and time periods, from labels such as Verve and Impulse! Records.  Also available through Music Online.  
All manuscripts and editions of Milton's works and all critical studies about his life and work.
JPRS is a government organization that supplies translations of unclassified foreign documents for government agencies.  Documents include periodical articles, military reports, statistics, scholarly journal articles, and others.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.

A community-contributed database with more than two million plant type specimen images and other foundational materials.  Thousands of links to related research articles on JSTOR, and other materials on the Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL), Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), and Tropicos.

Current legal news stories, both domestic and international.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

K

Full text of Kafka's novels, short stories, and diaries, as well as critical material about the author.
A source for information about German authors and contemporary works of German literature
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

L

L'Annee Philologique (1949 - Present)
The most comprehensive international index o research in classics. L'Annee indexes modern editions of ancient texts, journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Present coverage reflects 2-3 years lag time. (For older coverage from 1914-1949, see Ref PA3001 .A56).
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
Online version of the authoritative French dictionary
This unique tool includes practice tests for many graduate admissions tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, and MCAT.  Also includes a number of helpful courses and skill building exercises in a wide variety of areas including math skills, vocabulary skills, and personal finance.  Note that you must create a personal account on the site to use this tool.
Legal Collection (1965 - Present)
Citations and some full text articles from about 250 law reviews.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Bills, statutes, and regulations from U.S. state governments.
A comprehensive database of Latin texts, containing over 3,000 texts classified under 900 authors, spanning from the patristic and medieval periods through Antiquity and the early-modern and modern eras. (For Series A, research was done to verify facts relating to the texts; for Series B, the materials have been taken directly from existing editions.)
A comprehensive database of Latin texts, containing over 3,000 texts classified under 900 authors, spanning from the patristic and medieval periods through Antiquity and the early-modern and modern eras. (For Series A, research was done to verify facts relating to the texts; for Series B, the materials have been taken directly from existing editions.)
A tool that can be used to cross-search Library of Latin Texts Series A and B.
Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.  Part of the Documenting the American South, a digital publishing initiative.
Indexes articles relating to libraries and information management.
Online access to more than 50,000 abstracts from nearly 600 linguistics journals.
Index to international literature in linguistics covering all aspects of the study of language.  Over 1500 journals are indexed along with books, book chapters, and dissertations.
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
Searchable resource for full text of many literary works, literary criticism, biographies, work and topic overviews, and reviews.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

M

Full text digital images of 61,000 works of literature on the economy and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature.  Topics include commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
Mango Higher Education Edition is an online language program for universities and colleges. It includes a variety of oral exercises and other resources to help students gain practical conversation skills and cultural insight for the world’s most common languages.
Multidisciplinary database of general and popular magazines, periodicals, and reference sources.  Many include full text.
MathSciNet (1940 - Present)
Provides access to reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
MEDLINE (FirstSearch) (1950 - Present)
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) (1950 - Present)
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine.
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.
U.S. and international company financial data, annual reports, and information on executives and corporate subsidiaries.
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Enables simultanous searching of the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA).      
Streaming audio in a variety of genres including classical, jazz, folk and world music.  Music Online is the cross-searchable platform for all of Reed's current streaming audio subscriptions through Alexander Street Press.  
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

N

Indexes information on justice and substance abuse.
News and opinion on government and political activities in Washington.
Streaming audio. Primarily classical music, also world, folk, and other genres.  
Streaming audio.  Access over 3,800 jazz albums, from Naxos Jazz and the Fantasy Jazz labels.  
Search and access the full text of nearly 3,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The English translation of the seminal German reference work Der Neue Pauly. An extremely comprehensive resource for classical history with a contemporary, interdisciplinary approach.
New Testament Abstracts (1985 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the New Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
An index of indexes. Brings together over 60 subject indexing periodicals, newspapers, books, US congressional records, US and UK government documents, & US patents.
Provides access to the nation's documentary history. Provides information on the location of our nation's archival and manuscript collections.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

O

Portal site for statistics, books, journals, and working papers of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development. For data sets, choose Statistics from the navigation bar at the top of the main page.
Old Testament Abstracts (1978 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the Old Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
Online access to full-length performances from On the Boards, a Seattle-based center for contemporary performance.
Includes pro and con arguments for "hot topics".   Also includes primary source documents, statistical information, court case overviews, and other materials to help make sense of controversial topics.  
A comprehensive resource on art including Grove Art Online and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Biographical information about around 60,000 men and women important to British history.
Gives the meaning, pronunciation and history of over 500,000 words.  It traces a word's first recorded usage through quotations from many sources from different time periods.
Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries.
Electronic access to 4 major music reference works: the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Contains facts, figures, definitions, and translations in most fields, from art and architecture to science.
A collection of cross-searchable reference titles, such as The Oxford Classical Dictionary, Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, and Who's Who in the Classical World. Some entries contain bibliographies.
Shakespeare's plays with scholarly annotations that interpret and explain the text.

Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

P

PAIS International (1915 - Present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and government documents relating to the study of politics and public affairs.
PapersFirst (1993 - Present)
Includes articles presented at conferences worldwide.
Digital texts of Aristotle, Plato, Wittgenstein, and many other philosophical works--Classical, continental, and British--in English and German.
An electronic version of the Patrologia Latina published between 1844 and 1865. Includes the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 AD) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Penn World Table (1950 - 2007) data source
Download economic data for 189 countries from this site provided by the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania.
Contains hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
A digital library of the classical world. Includes classical texts in translation that can be searched online, as well as links to museum images of architecture, sculpture, and vases.
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
Play Index (1949 - Present)
Indexes plays published alone or in anthologies according to topic, genre, cast, etc.      
The Public Library of Science is a collection of open-access peer-reviewed journals covering specific areas within life and health science.
Polling the Nations (1986 - Present) data source
Public opinion survey results from U.S. and international news sources and polling organizations.
ProceedingsFirst (1993 - Present)
Index of conference proceedings.
Collection of about 520 education journals, including peer-reviewed, trade, and popular publications. Also includes educational reports.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Archive articles from all of the APS's journals, usually back to the first issue.
Comprehensive coverage of current publications in the visual and applied arts.  Includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Proquest Congressional (1789 - Present)
Congressional documents, including bills, statues, hearings, reports, and legislative histories.
Contains citations for dissertations and theses published in Western countries since 1861; abstracts are included for publications from 1980-present.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.  This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.
Finding aid for statistics published by governments, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
PsycBOOKS (1806 - Present)
Access to full text of psychology books.
Searchable database of 575 fulltext journals in psychology and closely related fields.
PsycINFO (1806 - Present)
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes some full text.
PubMed (1950 - Present)
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases, including PubMedCentral and PubBooks.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

R

Index of popular periodical literature from 1890 to 1982.
A searchable database of over 80,000 images and digital materials, including works of art, photographs, maps, and primary source documents. Key collections include the VRC Art & Architecture Collection and Reed Senior Theses.
This unique resource allows you to search the contents of hundreds of print books held here at Reed.
Full text database covering journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, as well as philosophical studies.
RILM Abstracts (1967 - Present)
Citations for music literature: scholarly books, articles, essays, reviews, and dissertations.      
International index to music periodicals, primarily from the nineteenth-century.      
RLIS Livedata sourceRequires password. See librarian for access.
RLIS (Regional Land Information System) data from Metro available online with username and password.  See Dena Hutto for access.
Archive of public opinion survey data. See quick snapshots of public opinion or download data sets.
Online access to audio-visual materials from past and present practitioners of performance, including interviews, masterclasses, productions, and documentaries. Spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

S

Primary sources about the Americas published throughout the world.  Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents and provides original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more. 
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
Science Citation Index (1900 - Present)
Citations to articles from core journals in the sciences. Ability to search by keyword, author, and cited references make this an important tool for research.
Full text articles from over 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific journals.
SciFinder Scholar (1907 - Present)
Comprehensive coverage of the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. Reaction and substruction searching is available.
Scitation (1975 - Present)
Database of close to 2 million records of citations in the physical sciences. Serves as access point for fulltext of many AIP journals.
Shakespeare Survey Online (1948 - Present)
Annual anthology of international scholarship relating to Shakespeare studies and production.  Full text access; also available through Cambridge Collections Online.
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao.  Chinese language only.
Short Story Index (1984 - Present)
Index to more than 96,000 stories, including the full text of over 4,000 stories, written in or translated into English, published in more than 4,200 collections and anthologies, and selected periodicals.
Requires client software on the computer you are using.  Library computers should have the program installed.  If you'd like to install it on your own computer, you'll need to download and install it.  Does not work on the Firefox browser.
Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books
Streaming audio from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels, primarily traditional world music.  Also available through Music Online.      
Collection of primary source documents drawn from letters, diaries, and oral histories. This database pulls together content from: North American Women's Letters and Diaries, British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, and Black Thought and Culture.
Social Explorer (1790 - Present) data source
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
Abstracts and citation searching of articles from high-impact academic journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers.
The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Download data and create charts based on data sets from government, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

T

Searchable full text resource for Spanish Golden Age theatre works (1500-1700).
Contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and the majority of surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Searchable archive of book reviews that appeared in the Times Literary Supplement (TLS).

Contains the full text of 2,500 twentieth-century plays in English from around the world.

Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

U

Provides bibliographic and publisher information for more than 300,000 periodicals from around the world.
Gateway to United Nations data sets on a wide range of subjects.
Digital collection of fulltext comic books and graphic novels, from the 1960s to present.
Searchable collection of historical government publications.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

V

Video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered.  Contact Dena for help in placing an order.
Covers popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, including magic shows, vaudeville, and circuses.
Searchable archive of the important fashion magazine. Advertisements are included and images are keyword indexed.

Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

W

Contains a seachable database of all editions of "Leaves of Grass" published during Whitman's lifetime, a biography,  an annotated bibliography of Whitman scholarship from 1975, and much more.
Web of Science (1900 - Present)
Citations to articles from core journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities and conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences. Ability to search by keyword, author, and cited references make this an important tool for research.
WestlawNext provides access to U.S. and international law sources. Access includes: legal encyclopedias, cases, statutes and legislative materials, and law reviews. Off-campus access
A digital archive of historical primary documents and reference material.
Women Writers Online (1400 - 1850) primary source/historical document collection
A digital collection of texts by pre-Victorian women writers.
Fulltext version of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon. Information on artists worldwide, active from antiquity to the present. Entries in German, but good for information about less well-known artists.
Download over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. Includes World Development Indicators Online and Global Development Finance.
Country and regional data from World Bank. See World dataBank to download data.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013)
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.
Comprehensive database of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in political science.
Collection of national and international databases of government-sponsored scientific research.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top

Z

Zoological Record (1978 - Present)
The "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics. Provides extensive coverage of the zoological literature, from biochemistry to species accounts. Includes references from over 5000 international journals, as well as books, meetings, and reviews.
Jump: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | top