Research Guide for Biology

Contact: Linda Maddux , Science Librarian

Getting Started

AccessScience
Covers all of science; much information of biological interest. Includes a scientific dictionary, images, and biographies of famous scientists. Also includes links to related websites.

Dictionary of Biology
Subjects covered include biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as some medicine and palaeontology. Includes biographies of key scientists in the discipline.

Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Ref QP11 .E53 1997
While focusing on human biology, this extensive reference work is an excellent starting place for background on topics in molecular and cellular biology, physiology, and genetics. Medium-length articles by eminent research scientists, with short bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Life Science
A comprehensive life sciences resource. Links to relevant news/articles. Also includes illustrations, a glossary, and related web resources.

Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms, 11th ed.
Ref QH302.5 .H65 1995
A comprehensive dictionary, with appendices that include structural formulae of important biochemical compounds and taxonomic outlines.


Return to Top

Resources by Type


Review Publications

Review publications contain articles that review the research already done in a given area. A review article can give you a synthesis of a particular topic and provide you with an extensive bibliography. All of the following review publications are shelved by title with the science periodicals. Holdings can be found by searching the Print & Electronic Journals page.

To identify review articles, most databases allow you to search by article type (review) or limit your search to reviews. Reed Library also subscribes to annual reviews and review journals. You can browse the annual reviews by title, or you can search by topic. These resources are available to the Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

Annual Review of … (search or browse all titles)
Reed subscribes to the entire collect of 38 Annual Review titles. A selection relevant to biology includes:

Annual Review of Biochemistry
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology
Annual Review of Genetics
Annual Review of Microbiology
Annual Review of Physiology
Annual Review of Plant Biology

Current Opinion in …
Provides views of experts on current advances, as well as annotated excerpts from important papers.

Current Opinion in Biotechnology
Current Opinion in Cell Biology
Current Opinion in Chemical Biology
Current Opinion in Genetics & Development
Current Opinion in Immunology
Current Opinion in Microbiology
Current Opinion in Neurobiology
Current Opinion in Structural Biology

Trends in...: A good place to find a shortish review article on a "hot" topic. Trends journals are indexed in Agricola and Web of Science.

Trends in Biochemical Sciences (TIBS)
Trends in Biotechnology (TIBTECH)
Trends in Cell Biology (TCB)
Trends in Ecology & Evolution (TREE)
Trends in Genetics (TIG)
Trends in Neurosciences (TINS)

Other Titles:
Microbiological and Molecular Biology Reviews (MMBR)
Physiological Reviews
Quarterly Review of Biology
Advances in Genetics

 

Databases

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

First Stop/Intro Classes:

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplary database with nice science coverage. Good for intro topics and beginning research, or when you just need to find "AN" article on a topic.  (EndNote Users: Use the RIS-filter.)

Core:

BIOSIS Previews (1969 - present)
The most comprehensive biological database, covering a large range and number of bioscience journals and other publications. Search with Web of Science and other biology databases here. (EndNote Users: Use the Web of Science (ISI) filter.)

Web of Science (1900 - present)
Web-based version of Science Citation Index. Provides keyword and citation access to over 5,700 major science journals. Search with biology databases here. (EndNote Users: Use the Web of Science (ISI) filter.) 

Also Useful:

AGRICOLA (1970 - present)
Index of materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, especially government and agency reports. Includes botany, entomology, forestry, natural resources, and plant diseases. (EndNote Users: Use the RIS-filter.)

PubMed (1966 - present)
Indexing of the biomedical literature. PubMed includes microbiology and molecular biology and can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases that provide sequence information (Nucleotide and Protein), and taxonomic (Taxonomy) and chemical (PubChem) resources, as well as the full text of many biological and biomedical texts (Bookshelf) Use Entrez, the NCBI's cross-database search page, to search many of the resources at once. Search with Web of Science and other biology databases here. (EndNote Users: Use the PubMed (NLM) filter & follow these instructions.)

Zoological Record (1864 - present)
Provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Includes references from over 4,500 international journals, as well as books, meetings, reviews and other types of literature. The "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics. Search with Web of Science and other biology databases here. (EndNote Users: Use the Web of Science (ISI) filter.)

 

Journals and Journal Collections

Once you identify a citiation for an article using a database, or if you just want to browse a journal title, you must determine if the library subscribes to the journal. At this time, the best way to do so is to use the Print & Electronic Journals page. For help, try How Do I Find Journal Articles?.

If you haven't identified particular journals, but would like to see what Reed has access to, you can use the mostly complete subject lists available from the journal title list.

 

 

Taxonomy, Classification, & Illustrations

Five Kingdoms: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth
Ref QH83 .M36 1998 (also in Stacks)
What a great resources. Using a five-kingdom system, describes characteristics of each phyla. Includes illustrations and origin of phyla name.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility
"A network of biodiversity databases and information technology tools that will enable users to navigate and put to use the world's vast quantities of biodiversity information to produce national economic, environmental and social benefits."

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (USDA)
"A database of current names and classifications of all biota." The Data Access section contains access to the database as well as instructions for use. Searchable by scientific or common name or taxonomic serial number. Contains scientific name, common (vernacular) name, TSN, author and rank.

iSpecies
Suggested by Keith. Searches a number of taxonomic resources & on the fly creates a profile of the organism by linking to molecular, taxonomic, and other sites. Not the cleanest site on the web, but pretty nice.

NCBI Taxonomy Homepage (NIH)
Searchable collection of databases containing protein and nucleic acid sequences of hundreds of organisms. Probably one of the most useful sites of its type that I have seen. Entries include references.

Plants Database
"Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
Ref QH83 .S89
All taxa down to family level are represented by short, referenced articles in a classified arrangement, with index. A useful starting point for research on an unfamiliar organism, but keep in mind that classification and/or nomenclature for some taxa may have changed since this was published in 1982.

Tree of Life
"Provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. Pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Starting with the root of all Life on Earth and moving out along diverging branches to individual species, the structure of the ToL project thus illustrates the genetic connections between all living things."

 

 

Return to Top

Additional Resources


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Encyclopedia of Hormones
Ref QP571 .E5 2003
Covers topics related to the study of all known hormones (in vertebrates, plants and insects). Each entry consists of an outline, an overview description, and a detailed treatment of the topic.

Encyclopedia of Immunology
Ref QR180.4 .E53 1998
Includes relevant readings, including review articles, cross-references, and crystallographic data.

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Comprehensive reference source to the core topics of molecular biology and also includes general background material for those fields to which molecular biology. Length of entries vary from definition to encyclopedic.

The Enzyme Reference
Ref QP601 .P87 2002
Standard name, class, EC number, reaction information for classified and some unclassified enzymes. Includes over 6500 enzyme-catalyzed reactions with citations to the original paper and review articles, when available.

Enzyme Nomenclature
Ref QP601 .I56 1992
Revision of the 1984 Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes standard abbreviations and references.

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP512 .G55 1997
Short definitions of terms related to biochemistry. Names of enzymes, vitamins, hormones and other biochemical substances are not included.

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology
Ref QR180.4 .C78 2003
Defines many of the basic terms of immunology. Illustrations include diagrams, charts, and structures.

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP512 .O94 2000
Brief definitions of terms (including acronyms and abbreviations). Includes some structures.

Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP514.2 .P73 1989
Divided into four major sections: Amino Acids and Proteins; Nucleosides, Nucleotides and Nucleic Acids; Lipids; and Physical-Chemical Data. Excellent source of fundamental biochemical information.

BRENDA: The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Provides basic information about the properties of over 3500 enzymes. Includes selected literature references and links to PubMed.

ExPASy Molecular Biology Server (University of Geneva)
Provides access to databases containing citations and 3-D color images of protein sequences. Also provides links to other molecular biology sites.

SCOP: Structural Classification of Proteins (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Centre for Protein Engineering)
Describes "structural and evolutionary relationships of all known protein structures." Provides links to a variety of different information sources, including Swiss-3DImage, RasMol Script, Chime view, NCBI Entrez Sequence Entries or Protein Databank Entries.

 

 

Botany & Mycology

Botanical Latin
Ref QK10 .S84 1992
Interesting resource useful for the study of Latin as it is "used by botanists".

Dictionary of Plant Sciences
"Includes biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups: one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."

Encyclopaedia of Ferns
Ref QK522 .J65 1987
Includes listing of fern species (with illustrations), as well as information on the botany, cultivation and propagation of ferns.

Plant Identification Terminology: An Illustrated Glossary
Ref QK9 .H37 2001
Defines terms used in systematic botany. Part 2, which groups terms by system, is especially useful.

Illustrated Dictionary of Mycology
Ref QK600.35 .U4313 2000
Short definitions and some illustrations of the technical terminology used in the study of mycology.

Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
Ref SB45 .E486 2004
Long detailed entries written by experts. Topics range from the technical (Nematode Population Dynamics) to the general (Agriculture: Why and How Did It Begin?).

Invasive Plant Species of the World
Ref SB613.5 .W43 2003
No illustrations, but extensive references and literature cited. Entries include scientific name, geographic distribution, invaded habitats, description and control.

Scientific and Common Names of 7, 000 Vascular Plants in the United States
Ref QK96 .B68 1995
Includes a common name index, synonyms, and a complete list of families with genera.

The Plant-book: A Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants
Ref QK11 .M29 1997
Terminology related to "every family and genus of seed-bearing plant."

 

 

Field Guides, Floras & Manuals

Amphibians of Oregon, Washington and British Columbia
QL653 .O7 C6 1996

Atlas of Oregon Wildlife
Ref QL202 .A85 1997

The Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees
Ref QK481 .L49 1980

A Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes: North America North of Mexico
Ref QL627 .P34 1991

A Field Guide to Western Reptiles and Amphibians
Ref QL651 .S783 2003

A Guide to Common Freshwater Invertebrates of North America
Ref QL365.4.A1 V67 2002

Gray's Manual of Botany
Ref QK117 .G75 1950a

Medicinal Plants of the World
Ref QK99.A1 V36 2004

Moss Flora of the Pacific Northwest
Ref QK534 .L3 1971

Mushrooms of North America
Ref QK617 .P552 1991

National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds
Ref QL681 .B77 1994

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Ref QL666.O6 E763 2003

Vascular Plants of the Pacific Northwest
Ref QK144 .V38

 

 

General Biology & Natural History

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Ref QH77.N56 B43 2000
Describes the over 1200 animals and plants identified by the U. S. Fisheries and Wildlife Service as endangered or threatened before April 2000. Also useful: Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species (Ref QL82 .B435 1998).

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Ref QH541.15.B56 E53 2001
Scholarly treatment of issues relating to "diversity in the natural world." Long entries written by scholars, usually with extensive bibliographies.

Index to Illustrations of Animals and Plants
Ref QH46.5 .C54 1991
Good coverage for North America, especially for mammals, reptiles and amphibians, birds, and plants. Most of the source publications were published in the 1980s.

Life on Earth
Ref QH541.15.B56 L54 2002
Shortish articles on topics related to biodiversity; essays defining biodiversity and human impact.

 

 

Genetics

An A to Z of DNA Science
Ref QH427 .W58 2001
Designed for the non-scientist. Definitions using easy to understand language and illustrations.

A Dictionary of Genetics
Ref QH427 .K55 2002
Clearly written entries of about a paragraph, with some illustrations. Includes terms that are often encountered in the literature.

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
Different types of articles with varying degree of coverage. Focus is on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics
Ref QH427 .R43 2003
Contains short entries, many on topics not available in other resources. Some illustrations and tables help explain the terms.

Genetics and Cell Biology On File
Ref QH440.2 .G455 2003
Graphical representations of key concepts related to genetics, including techniques, cell types, molecular genetics, population genetics, and cell biology. Very useful for presentations.

Human Genome Resources

KEGG - Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
An excellent resource emphasizing sequence to function data. It contains (metabolic and regulatory) pathway maps, molecular catalogs, genome maps and gene catalogs and can be searched by EC numbers or enzymes, by compound numbers for chemical compounds, and gene accessions for specific genes.

OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
A catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Contains textual information and references; links to PubMed and other Entrez resources.

OMIA - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
A database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse). Links to other Entrez resources.

 

 

Medicine (General) & Physiology

Desk Reference for Neuroscience
Ref QM451 .L625 1992
Dictionary of terms related to the nervous system.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Ref R121 .D675 2003
Brief definitions to medical terms. Includes useful appendices (etymology, anatomy, surgical equipment), tables and color plates.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
Ref RC334 .E53 1999
Encyclopedic treatment of the language of neuroscience. Good bibliographies.

Handbook of Physiology
Ref QP6 .H26 1977
Encyclopedic treatise, covering vertebrates and invertebrates. Lengthy bibliographies. Slowly being revised and updated; some volumes very recent.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Ref RC46 .H333 1998
Medical textbook with excellent coverage of clinical medicine, the biology and pathophysiology of diseases, anatomy and physiology.

 

 

Microbiology

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Ref QR9 .S56 2001
Attempts to define the terminology of the "many and varied aspects of microbiology." Includes a number of references for further reading, as well as to identify sources. Some helpful illustrations.

EcoSal
The online version of Escherichia coli and Salmonella: cellular and molecular biology. An archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell, comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation, including the genome database. Continually expanded, updated, and revised.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology
Includes approximately 320 articles providing coverage of the entire field of environmental microbiology and all important topics. Extensive cross-referencing, bibliographies, a comprehensive index, and illustrations (photographs, tables, and line drawings).

Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Ref QR9 .E53 2000
Medium-length articles by eminent research scientists, with short bibliographies, on topics ranging from beer-making to viral transcription.

Encyclopedia of Virology
Ref QR358 .E53 1999
In-depth signed articles on viruses and general topics related to virology. Also includes appendices of current virus nomenclature.

Handbook of Protoctista
Ref QR74.5 .H36 1990
"The structure, cultivation, habitats and life histories of the eukaryotic microorganisms and their descendants exclusive of animals, plants and fungi." Includes algae, ciliates, foraminifera, sporozoa, water molds and slime molds. Large bibliographies for each chapter.

Practical Handbook of Microbiology
QR72.5.P73 1989 (Stacks)
Condensed version of a multi-volume handbook on identification and culture of bacteria, mycoplasmas, viruses, and yeasts.

Virology
Ref QR358 .H85 1989
Very useful appendices. Appendices A - E are lists of insect species in which various infections have been found. Appendix F lists phage isolates from bacteria.

 

 

 

Zoology

American Insects
Ref QL474 .A76 2000
A guide for identifying insect orders, families, genera and important species. Opening chapters provide an introduction to the study and practice of entomology, including methods of insect collection.

The Birds of North America
Ref QL681 .B625
Species accounts of over 700 bird species that breed in the United States. The online version includes downloadable images, videos & birdsong recordings.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Ornithology
Ref QL673 .C35 1991
An overview of bird physiology, behavior, ecology, classification, etc. Bibliography.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology
Ref QL9 .C66 1991
Defines terms describing taxa, animal behavior, taxonomic principles, zoogeography, and more. Includes brief biographical sketches of scientists who have contributed substantially to the field of zoology.

A Dictionary of Zoology
Defines terms describing taxa, animal behavior, cell structure, Earth history, taxonomic principles, zoogeography, and more. Includes brief biographical sketches of scientists who have contributed substantially to the field of zoology.

Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
Ref QL641 .H35 1986
Overviews orders and families of amphibians and reptiles; many illustrations.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Ref QL7 .G7813 2003
Fairly lengthy, signed articles describing the biology, phylogeny, habitat and behavior of orders, families and genera of animals. 17 volumes including a complete index.

Handbook of the Birds of the World
Ref QL673 .H25 1992
Ongoing publication; Plans to include descriptive accounts of every bird species in the world.

The Invertebrates: An Illustrated Glossary
Ref QL362 .S82 1991
Arranged systematically, consists mainly of anatomical terminology and illustrations of invertebrates exclusive of single-celled forms and terrestrial arthropods (insects, arachnids, etc.)

The Torre-Bueno Glossary of Entomology
Ref QL462.3 .T67 1989
A dictionary explaining terms used in the scientific study of insects.

Traite de Zoologie: Anatomie, Systematique, Biologie (17 vols. in 38 pts.)
QL45 .T7
Published over a period of years from around 1950 to the present, this is the only true treatise covering the entire range of zoology. Although French language makes use difficult, the more recent volumes can be used for the large bibliographies at the end of each chapter, which include many English language citations. The indexes at the end of each volume include scientific names, which help to locate the appropriate chapters and references.

Walker's Mammals of the World
Ref QL703 .N68 1999
Provides physical descriptions, distribution, habitat, behavior, diet, seasonal activity, and current status. Also includes references, date of original description, and photographs.

 

 

Return to Top

Writing Guides

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Ref T11 .S386 2006
Must Read! Includes chapters on general style conventions, Genes, Chromosomes, and Related Molecules, Taxonomy and Nomenclature, and Tables, Figures, and Indexes

The Elements of Style by William Strunk and E. B. White
Ref PE1408 .S772 2005
Read every word at least twice.

Gopen GD and Swan JA. 1990. The Science of scientific writing. American Scientist 78:550-558.

Knight J. 2003. Scientific literacy: Clear as mud. Nature 423: 376-378.

Wells WA. 2004. Me write pretty one day: how to write a good scientific paper. J. Cell Biol. 165:757-758.

Other Suggestions

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Robert Day
T11 .D33 1998

Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Victoria E. McMillan
QH304 .M36 1997

Chicago Guide to Communicating Science
T10.5 .M65 2003
Includes techniques for writing papers, conference talks, review articles, etc.

On Writing Well
PE1429 .Z5 1994

Style: Toward Clarity and Grace
PE1421 .W546 1995

Writing/Citation Tools

There are quite a few options for citation management. Take a look at this guide to help you select which one is the best for you!

Useful Internet Resources

Common Errors in English

Guide to Grammar and Style

Introduction to Journal-Style Scientific Writing
Nice, well-organized resource with good advice.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing are designed to help students communicate their technical work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice, models, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering and science."

 


Return to Top