Research Guide for Linguistics
Contact:
Jack Levine
,
Acquisitions Librarian
Getting Started
There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and
encyclopedias that provide basic information on Linguistics. If you
wish to explore a linguistics topic, these reference sources provide
definitions and introductory information about the subject. Other
resources are also available in the Reference Room.
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
Encyclopedia of Semiotics
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics
Handbook of Semiotics
An Encyclopaedia of Language
Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages
The Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics
Classification and Index of the World's Languages
A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology
Concise Encyclopedia of Grammatical Categories
Compendium of the World's Languages
Ref P29 .B875 1996
Concise scholarly articles on historical, comparative and typological
linguistics as well as on applied subdisciplines. Covers core areas
such as phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and pragmatics.
Includes bibliographical references, illustrations and diagrams.
Ref P29 .C64 1997
The goal of this work, organized in 11 parts covering 65 thematic
areas, is to demonstrate the great diversity of the world's languages
and to convey the value of linguistic research. Copiously illustrated.
Ref P29 .C65 2003
Contains definitions of terms used in linguistics and language study.
Ref P29 .C68 1992
Consists of brief entries on a wide range of practical rather than
theoretical linguistics topics. Areas covered include typography,
language teaching, and speech pathology.
Ref P29 .E48 1994
International in character, this is a comprehensive, multi-volume work
that covers not only the core areas of linguistics, but also more
peripheral areas. An important aspect of the work is its
interdisciplinary nature covering subjects such as anthropology,
psychology and philosophy as they touch upon language. Articles range
in length from a few sentences to long essays.
Ref P29 .I58 2003
A comprehensive multi-volume work covering all aspects of linguistics.
It is particularly strong in current concepts. The last volume includes
an outline of included articles by broad subject and a list of language
related articles by language family.
Ref P40 .C564 2001
Ref P99 .E64 1998
Contains three hundred articles covering a wide range of
twentieth-century topics such as the study of signs, communication, and
culture. The work also delves into non-Western philosophical and
linguistic traditions.
Ref P99 .E65 1986
Includes entries that cover the historical background of semiotics and
its present usage of terms, brief biographies of preeminent scholars in
semiotics, and essays on the impact of semiotics on the arts and
sciences.
Ref P99 .N6513 1990
A systematic treatment of semiotics that begins with its history and
proceeds to a discussion of the work of modern scholars in the field.
Includes an extensive bibliography.
Ref P106 .A46 1989
A collection of scholarly essays on how language affects thought and
experience, how language is learned and taught, and how we study it.
The essays are divided into three parts: "The Inner Nature of
Language", "The Larger Province of Language", and "Special Aspects of
Language".
Ref P121 .D45 2000
A guide to the reference literature of linguistics published from 1957
to 1998. Primarily Western in focus, this book covers bibliographic and
reference sources rather than scholarship in the field.
Ref P140 .C36 2004
Essentially a collection of linguistic descriptions of "all known
ancient languages", this is a convenient starting place for research on
the grammars of ancient languages.
Ref P143 .T727 2000
The first dictionary to define the terms used by the first branch of
linguistics to obtain a scholarly footing. Most of the terms it defines
are not listed in existing general or specialized dictionaries of
linguistics.
Ref P203 .V6
A detailed arrangement of the genetic interrelationships and classification of the world's languages.
Ref P216 .T73 1996
A concise dictionary of terms that, in addition, provides an
explanation of the important theoretical approaches to phonology.
Ref P240.5 .C66 1999
A collection of articles on the grammatical categories that have been
useful for the analysis and description of the structure of languages.
Ref P371 .C36 2000
The goal of this two-volume work is to include all of the world's
literary languages, along with some others that lack a literary
tradition but are of sufficient interest for inclusion, and explain how
they actually work.
Return to Top
Locating Books
To locate books, look in the library catalog. If you know the author or editor, search Author, last name first. To search by Title,
you must know the first few words of the title, but you do not have to
know the complete title. If you are looking for books on a particular
topic, try a Keyword
search first. Type some keywords and see if you locate any appropriate
book titles. To look for additional titles click on the subject
headings assigned to them to find additional books on you topic.
If you fail to find books on your topic in the Reed catalog, try searching in the Summit
catalog. The Summit catalog contains the books owned by over 25
academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. Click on "Search in
Summit" and the system will automatically perform your search in the
Summit catalog. If you find a title you want you can request it by
clicking the "Request this item" link and following the prompts. You
will receive an email when the book arrives at Reed, usually 2 to 3
working days after you request it.
WorldCat
An online catalog, containing over 50 million records for items owned
by Reed and libraries worldwide. Use WorldCat to find books, journal
and newspaper titles, sound recordings, musical scores, films and
manuscripts. WorldCat cannot be used to find individual journal
articles.
Return to Top
Finding Journal Articles and Critical Essays
Reed community only. Off campus access is available.
Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents
of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are
inter-disciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some
contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include
citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as
journal articles.
After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the Print & Electronic Journal page to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue.
If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can
request it from Interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from
Summit).
Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present)
Social Sciences Index (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
JSTOR
MLA (1921 - present)
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - varies by title)
Linguistics Abstracts Online
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for more than 4,600
scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database
offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,000 journals.
Multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the social sciences. (Available through Web of Science.)
An author and subject index to more than 300 English language periodicals. Available in print as Social Sciences Index (Ref AI3 .S6) from 1974 - 2000.
Contains digitized images of the complete archives of selected core
scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date
from the 1800's. The searching capability allows for searching across
disciplines.
Index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. MLA covers all
languages and all literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Formerly PCI - Periodicals Contents Index.
An index to millions of articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals
in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, PCI
covers journals going back over 300 years.
Online access to more than 30,000 abstracts from nearly 400 linguistics journals published since 1985.
Return to Top
Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003
Return to Top
