Research Guide for Religion

Contact: Rachel Bridgewater , Electronic Resources Librarian

Getting Started

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information for Religion. If you are not clear about your topic, these reference sources provide definitions and introductory information about the subject. You can also browse them to brainstorm for more ideas. Other, more specialized resources are available in the Reference Room.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.
Ref BL31 .E46 1986
Ref BL31 .E46 2005
The first edition, edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1986, is a classic text in the study of Religion and features broad essays with substantial detail and bibliographies. The second edition (the online version) is completely revised with substantial additional content.

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Ref BL31 .O84 1997
Brief entries on concepts, deities, people, places; many entries have references for further reading. Topic index.

Oxford Reference Online: Religion & Philosophy
A collection of reference books accessible online.

Religions of the World
Ref BL80.3 .R45 2002
"Comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices of contemporary religions."


Return to Top

Selected Reference Resources


Biblical Studies

Anchor Bible Dictionary
Ref BS440 .A54 1992

Oxford Companion to the Bible
Ref BS440 .M434 1993

 

Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Ref BQ128 .E62 2004

Encyclopedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints & Demons
Ref BQ130 .B88 1994

 

Christianity

Acta Sanctorum

Encyclopedia of Christianity
Ref BR95 .E8913 1999

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Ref BR162.2 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Ref BX4811.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Saints
Ref BX4655.8 .G85 2001

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Ref BX841 .N44 2003

Patrologia Latina

 

Hinduism

Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
Ref BL1105 .S85 1997

 

Islam

Atlas of the Islamic World Since 1500
Ref DS35.6 .R6 1982

Encyclopedia of Islam (online in reference room only)
Ref DS37 .E56 1960

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Ref BP40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of the Qur'an
Ref BP133 .E53 2001

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Ref DS35.53 .O95 1995

 

Judaism

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period
Ref BM50 .D525 1996

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Ref DS102.8 .E52 1982

Historical Atlas of the Jewish People
Ref DS117 .J8513 1992

New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Ref BM50 .E63 2002

 

Mythology

Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
Ref BL303 .M45 2004

 

Religion in the United States

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Ref BL2462.5 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
Ref BL2525 .B45 1998

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience
Ref BL2525 .E53 1987

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements
Ref BP601 .C47 2001

 

Return to Top

Locating Books

To locate books, search the library catalog. If you know the author or editor, search Author, last name first. To search by Title, you must know the first few words of the title, but you do not have to know the complete title.

To search by topic, try a Word search. Once you locate some appropriate book titles, make note of the subject headings assigned to them. You can then do a Subject search on those headings to locate more books. Alternatively, you can check the stacks for other books with similar call numbers. To search successfully by Subject, you must use subject terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings. These can be found in large red books directly behind the Reference Desk.

To search for books in the Summit system, access the library catalog as usual, and select the "Search in Summit" button. If you find books in Summit which are not owned by Reed, you can request the books directly from the Summit catalog. You will need to enter your barcode number, which is the number under the barcode on your Reed ID. You will be notified when the book arrives, and the borrowing period is three weeks with one renewal.


Return to Top

Finding Journal Articles and Critical Essays

Reed community only. Off campus Access is available.

Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are interdisciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Because Religion is itself interdisciplinary, you many need to use indexes from several disciplines in your research process.

At this time, only some indexes contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as for journal articles. Most of the time, after you find a citation for an article you want to see, you will need to check the print & electronic journals list to see whether or not Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue. (See also: How Do I Find Journal Articles?) If the article is not available at Reed, you can request it from interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from Summit).

Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Interdisciplinary academic content; many full-text articles.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present) and Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present)
Part of the "Web of Science" (along with the Science Citation Index). The indexes may be searched singly or together. Enables searching of references cited in books and journal articles, as well as subject, author, and title searching.

ATLA Religion Index (1949 - present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry projects.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - present)
Indexes western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.

Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - present)
Use this database to find essays and articles contained in collections (i.e. books) of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.

Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles in the humanities.

Index Islamicus (1906 - present)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world.

JSTOR Periodicals - Religion titles
Electronic access and searching capability to the journals in many disciplines. Will be useful for some topics in Religion. Most content is from the first issue of the periodical until 3-5 years before the present.

New Testament Abstracts (1985 - present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the New Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.

Old Testament Abstracts (1978 - present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the Old Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.

Periodicals Index Online
PIO is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (some back to 1665) to 1993.

Philosopher's Index (1940 - present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World since 1967. Coverage from 1940 for U.S. materials.

Project Muse - Religion titles
Electronic access and searching capability to the journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other academic publishers. Most content is from after 1995.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (1975 - present)
Fulltext database covering journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, as well as philosophical studies.

Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
Covers material in sociology, anthropology, social psychology, and cultural studies.


Return to Top