Reed College Library Research Guide

Chemistry


Research Guide

Reviews | Databases | Journals | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Handbooks | Writing & Research

The following is a selection of available resources for Chemistry and chemistry-related subjects. A more complete guide is available as the Chemistry Resource Guide.

Review Publications

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

Accounts of Chemical Research (v. 1, 1968 - present)

Annual Review of Biochemistry (v.1, 1932 - present)

Annual Review of Physical Chemistry (v. 1, 1950 - present)

Search All Annual Reviews

Chemical Reviews (v. 1, 1924 - present).

Chemical Society Reviews (v.1, 1972 - present).


Databases

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

Recommended Databases

Chemical Abstracts aka SciFinder (1907 - present)
Comprehensive coverage of the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. For access, register here or see the Science Librarian. For help, see the Tip Sheet. There is also a wonderful book: Information Retrieval: SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar (Ref QD 8.5 R53 2002).

Web of Science (1900 - present)
A must use! Provides keyword and citation access to over 5,700 major science journals. There is a nice online tutorial available.

Other Useful Databases

INSPEC (1898 - present)
The premier database for physics. Covers journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical & electronic engineering, computing, and information technology.

PubMed (1966 - present)
Indexing of the biomedical literature. Includes good coverage for biochemical topics and can be searched with many other resources, including PubChem, a resource that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.

Web of Science w/biology resources
Includes Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoo Record & Medline.


Electronic Journal Collections

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

American Chemical Society (All publication years)

American Institute of Physics (1975 - present)

BioOne
Fulltext of a hundred or so high-impact biology journals.

Physical Review Online Archive (1893 - present)

PubMed Central
The NIH's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.


Dictionaries

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

Dictionary of Chemistry
Contains entries for over 4200 terms related to chemistry.

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Ref QD148 .D53 1992
Includes coordination complexes, bioinorganic compounds, minerals and ores and other industrially important substances. Entries contain structures, formula weight, hazards data CAS registry numbers, stability and reference and usage information.

Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Ref QD246 .D5 1996
Valuable source of data on organic compounds, including constitution, physical and chemical properties, use, bibliographic references, toxicity information, CAS registry numbers. Arranged by "DOC" (chemical) name, with name and formula indexes.

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
Ref QD411 .D53 1995
For compounds with metal-carbon bonds (including metal carbonyls). Entries contain structures, formula weight, hazards data CAS registry numbers, stability and reference and usage information.

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP512 .O94 2000
Brief definitions of terms (including acronyms and abbreviations). Includes some structures.

Quanta: A Handbook of Concepts
Ref QD 462 A846 1991
Not technically a dictionary, but an excellect dictionary/encyclopedic treatment of the terminology of quantum physics.


Encyclopedias

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

AccessScience
Nice intro encyclopedia. Covers all of science.

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Comprehensive coverage of inorganic chemistry and related topics. The 8-volume set includes organometallic, bioinorganic, and physical and theoretical topics, as relevant.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Ref TP9 .E685 1992
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering chemical technology, industrial processes and applications.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Ref QD4 .M33 1997
Covers a broad range of topics that are generally associated with chemistry. Includes the sub-disciplines and branches of chemistry, as well as common substances and biographies of chemists "who made seminal contributions" to chemistry.

Techniques of Chemistry
Ref QD61 .T4
Compilation of methodology in chemical analysis and synthesis for organic and inorganic chemistry; arranged by “technical family”--e.g. instruments, electrochemical methods, spectroscopy, chromatography, etc.


Handbooks & Data Sources

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ref Desk QD65 .H3 [date]
Standard reference source for chemical and physical data--constants, properties, etc. Online version allows for 10 simultaneous users.

EROS
Web-based access to Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. Completely searchable and updated frequently.

Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis (v. 19 - present)
QD262 .F54 1999
Standard reference work describing reagents of use to organic chemists; includes bibliographic references. v. 1 - 7 (QD262 .F5) is titled Reagents for Organic Synthesis, v. 8 - 17 (QD262 .F54 1980) is titled Fieser & Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis.

Frederick/Bethesda Data and Online Services
A a collaboration between NCI and NIH "to provide to the public structures, data, tools, programs and other useful information". Although there are no access restrictions to data available on the site, some links may lead to other sites that are not publically accessible. A new addition is the Chemical Structure Lookup Service ,(CSLS) , which allows users to look up structures in about 78 databases, representing 26,416,001 unique chemical structures.

Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, (CRC) 3rd ed.
Ref QH345 .H347 1975
Divided into sections amounting to separate handbooks: proteins, nucleic acids, etc.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Ref QD65 .L36 1999
Contains conversion tables, physical properties, and thermodynamics data.

Material Safety Data Sheets
Searchable index to MSDS provided by the chemical manufacturers. Also try, Where to find MSDS on the Internet, a list of over 85 commercial, government & academic sites that provide access to MSDS's.

Merck Index
Ref Desk RS51 .M4 1996
Information, including literature citations, on over 10,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances.

NIST Chemistry Web Book
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.

WebElements
The best periodic table on the web. Includes spectroscopy, isotope and geological data.

Spectroscopy

The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra    Ref QC462.85 .A44 1993

The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra    Ref QD96.I5 P66 1985

The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra, 2nd ed.     Ref QD96.I5 P67 1975

The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra, 2nd ed.     Ref QD96.N8 P68 1983

Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance     Ref QC762 .E53 1995

Handbook of Infrared & Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds & Organic Salts     Ref QC457 N927 1997

Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy     Ref QD95 .P73 1991

The Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra     Ref QC453 S73 1978

Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
Contains Mass, NMR, and Infrared spectra for over 30,000 compounds. Searchable by name, formula, molecular weight, or CAS number.


Scientific Writing & Research

Gopen, GD and Swan, JA. 1990. The Science of Scientific Writing. American Scientist 78: 550-558.

ACS Ethical Guidelines to Publication of Chemical Research Outlines
Ethical expectations of the Society for the editors, authors, and reviewers involved with the ACS publications.

ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors
Ref QD8.5 .A25 1997
In addition to instructions for contributors of ACS journals, also contains an overview of preparing chemical literature and guidelines for oral presentations. Some of the information is also available online from the ACS's Author Information resource.

Chicago Guide to Communicating Science
T10.5 .M65 2003
Includes techniques for writing papers, conference talks, review articles, etc.

Endnote
Allows you to save and organize reference citations.

How to Find Chemical Information
Ref QD8.5 .M34 1998
Excellent resources! Covers everything from creating a search strategy to finding patents.

Introduction to Journal-Style Scientific Writing
Nice, well-organized resource with good advice.

Internet Resources for Scientific Writing
From the ACS. A list of links (not totally accurate).

On Writing Well
PE1429 .Z5 1994
One of Arthur's favorites.

Style: Toward Clarity and Grace
PE1421 .W546 1995
A wonderful resouce for someone who wishes to improve/refine his/her writing.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing are designed to help students communicate their technical work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice, models, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering and science."


Maintained by: Linda Maddux, Science Librarian & Pat McDougal, Chemistry Professor