Useful Databases for Economics Research
|
|
Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) in
Web of Science |
{1954 - present} As part of the "Web of Science" (along
the Science Citation Index). The two indexes may be searched singly
or together. Enables searching of references cited in books and journal
articles, as well as subject, author, and title searching.You must
have specific information (year published, author, etc.) about the
articles you are looking up in order to use this database successfully.
If you need help, please email a
librarian. |
| Academic
Search Premier |
Academic Search Premier covers a wide variety of interdisciplinary
literature, including articles published in both scholarly and general
interest journals. fulltext is available for many journal titles. |
| Business
Source Premier |
Covers magazines and journals about business and industry. Like
Academic Search Premier, fulltext is available for many journal titles.
Inclues country reports from CountryWatch and industry and company
profiles from Data Monitor. |
| Lexis
Nexis Academic |
Aggregator for news, business, and legal information. Search by
categories of publications or in specific publications. Lexis Nexis
includes many primary sources from the government and IGOs, such as
laws and regulations. |
|
PAIS
International |
{1972 - present} Public Affairs International Service: covers economic,
political, and social issues on a local, regional, national, and international
level. Includes journal articles, books, and government reports. |
|
World Political Science Abstracts |
Citations and abstracts covering about 1,200 academic journals
relating to political science, policy studies, and government from
1975 to present. This literature database is still evolving, but seems
poised to give PAIS a run for its money. |
| ERIC |
Education Resources Information Center from
the U.S. Dept. of Education. Also available through the Dept. of Education
web site at www.eric.ed.gov.
|
| Sociological
Abstracts |
{1952 - present} Includes journal articles in sociology, anthropology,
criminology, demography, education, law & penology, race relations,
social psychology, urban studies, and more. |
| NCJRS
Abstracts |
Summaries of journal articles and other resources on criminal justice
and substance abuse from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. |
| AgEcon
Search |
Database on research in agricultural and applied economics from
the University of Minnesota. |
| Reed
Library Databases |
Look here if you need information about databases on other subjects.
Search by subject area or title. Ask a
librarian if you are having trouble figuring out which ones are
relevant to your search or if you are not getting the results you
need. |
|
Catalogs for Books and More |
| Reed
Library Catalog |
Books, reports,working papers, and electronic collections
at Reed. |
| Summit |
Union catalog for most academic libraries in Oregon
and Washington. Borrow books, reports, working papers, and even
some volumes of annual publications and journals. Reed's catalog
is included, and in the "new" version, so are WorldCat libraries (see below). |
| WorldCat
& WorldCat.org |
Even larger union catalog for all types of libraries,
public and academic. Use the WorldCat link to place requests for
interlibrary loan delivery. Use the WorldCat.org link as a handy
way of identifying which local libraries may have a book or report
you're interested in. |
|
Google Books |
Google's project to scan all the books in the world
is a work in progress, and many books are not available for viewing.
But this project still can be a way of finding books, reports, etc.
with chapters or significant passages relating to a specific topic. |
Magazine and News Collections
|
| Lexis-Nexis
Academic
{current material, coverage dates vary by source} |
Fulltext service for news, law, government, and business information. |
| Wall
Street Journal |
Searchable archive of the Eastern edition, 1984 to present. |
| CQ
Weekly from Congressional Quarterly |
Washington, DC insider news publication with in-depth analysis on
government activities from all branches of government. |
| Policy
Central from National Journal |
Academic version of the Washington Post's National Journal, another
weekly news publication. |
| Chronicle
of Higher Education |
Enjoy Reed's new subscription to the full Chronicle web site, including
searching, backfiles access, and special features like the Almanac
of Higher Education. |
| Proquest
Historical Newspapers |
Searchable archive of Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and
other major national and regional newspapers. |
| Oregonian |
More complete than the Lexis-Nexis version, this searchable archive
of the Oregonian covers Sept. 1987 to present. |
Working Papers and other Research on the Web
|
|
IDEAS |
Portal site to economics research included in RepEc (Research Papers
in Economics). Search or browse by JEL classification for working
papers, book chapters, and journal articles. Many are downloadable.
|
| SSRN |
Social Sciences Research Network - Electronic Library
|
| NBER |
National Bureau of Economic Research - Working Papers
Reed subscribes to the online working paper series. Access to papers
published 1994-present.
|
| CEPR |
Centre for Economic Policy Research
Download publications and data from this UK-based research institute.
|
| CIAO |
Columbia International Affairs Online - Working Papers
Reed subscribes to this online document collection
|
| Fed
in Print |
Index to research by the Federal Reserve
|
| RAND
Publications |
Access to publications of the nonprofit research organization.
|