Reed College Library Research Guide

English 301
Junior Seminar


Databases and Other Sources for Articles

Databases for articles on literature

American Literary Scholarship: An Annual. (Ref PS3 .A47 1963 -) also online
Cambridge Collections Online
John Milton: A Bibliography
Literature Online: includes Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) online (1920-).
MLA online (1921 -)
The Year's Work in English Studies.(Ref PE58 .E6, 1919 - ) Annual Selective and evaluative bibliographic essays on the year's books and articles; author, subject index. Last 10 years in Ref, earlier years in stacks. Also online.

Interlibrary Loan

• Link available from some databases
Web ILL Form
• Electronic delivery of requested items

Electronic Interdisciplinary Sources for Articles

Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) (1975 - present)
Essay and General Literature Index (Online 1985 -) and print (Ref A13 .E78; 1900 - 1998)
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
Humanities Abstracts (coverage 1984 - present)
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - varies by title)

Fulltext/Digital Facsimile Collections

EEBO (Early English Books Online, 1475-1700)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Early American Imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
JSTOR
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Project Muse
Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (1902 - 1990)

Book Reviews Resource Guide

Databases for Related Topics

ATLA Religion Index (Coverage 1949 - present)
America: History and Life (Coverage 1964 - Present)
Historical Abstracts (Coverage 1955 - Present)

Print Resources for Articles

Library of Literary Criticism (Ref PR83 .M78 1959; covers 680-1904)
The Critical Temper (Ref PR85 .C77; covers 20th century criticism)
New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (Ref PR19 .B32 1969)


Created by: Jack Levine, English Liaison & Laura Leibman, English Professor