Reed College Library Research Guide

English 301
Junior Seminar


Library Research Guide: Selected Sources for English Literary Research

Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopedias | Literary Criticism and Critical Theory | Guides, Bibliographies | General | American Writers | Women Writers | Serial Abstracts, Bibliographies, and Indexes of Literature | General Indexes | Fulltext/Digital Facsimiles | Single-author Bibliographies | Style Manuals | More Literature Resources | Book Reviews Resource Guide


Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopedias

Johns Hopkins University, Evaluating Information Found on the Internet.

Ref PE679 .M5
Middle English Dictionary, also online

Ref PN41 .A184 2005
Abrams, A Glossary of Literary Terms.
Defines and discusses terms, critical theories, and points of view commonly used in the analysis and interpretation of literary works.

Ref PN41 .H355 2003
Harmon, A Handbook to Literature.
Definitions of literary terms. Includes an "Outline of Literary History: British and American."

Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.
History, theory, technique, and criticism of poetry from earliest period to present. Also online.

Ref PR19 .D73 2000
The Oxford Companion to English Literature.
Brief articles on authors, works, literary movements, etc. Also online.

PR85 .C29 2006
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English.
Covers the authors, works, genres, criticism, and movements of the literatures of the UK, North America and the Caribbean, Africa, India, and Australasia. Entries range in length from 100 to more than 1,000 words.

Ref PR87 .O94 2002
The Oxford Chronology of English Literature. 2 vols.
Information about 30,000 works by 4,000 authors, the chronology includes, besides novelists, poets, and dramatists, theologians, historians, philosophers, explorers, and scholars. "English literature" is defined as the work of writers in the British Isles, including Ireland, and to 700 classical and foreign authors whose translated works have influenced it. Covers work from 1474 through 2000.

Ref PS21 .E537 2004
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature.
Covers literary practices in the United States from colonial times to the present. Its essays cover authors, texts, and literary movements. Also online.

Ref PS21 .H3 1995
The Oxford Companion to American Literature.
Brief articles on authors, works, literary movements, etc. Also online

PS92 .C34 1994
The Cambridge History of American Literature. 8 vols.

PS153.M56 .G74 2005
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. 5 vols.
Provides information on hundreds of ethnic authors, texts, topics and traditions.

Ref PS153.N5 O96 1997
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature.


Literary Criticism and Critical Theory

Ref PN41 .H36 1992
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory.
Essays on seventy concepts of special importance to literary theory.

Ref PN81 .E63 1993
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms.

Ref PN81 .J554 2005
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism.
Also online.

Ref PN81 .O77R4 1989
Research in Critical Theory Since 1965: A Classified Bibliography.
Coverage from 1965-1987 on topics in critical theory. Identifies works by major theorists.

Ref PN86 .E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism. 2 vols.
"Guide to literary theory and criticism past and present." Entries cover individuals, theories and concepts in both Western and non-Western theory and criticism.

Ref PN597 .T94 2000
Twentieth-century Literary Movements Dictionary.
"Entries on major and minor literary movements and schools associated with Twentieth-century world literature." Includes entries on individual writers identified with those movements, such as novelists, poets, dramatists, theorists, etc.


Guides, Bibliographies

Ref PR83 .B285
Guide to English and American Literature.
General research guide, arranged by literary period.

Ref PR83 .H34 2002
Literary Research Guide: A Guide to Reference Sources for the Study of Literatures in English and Related Topics.

Ref PR56.B34 2000
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature.


General

Ref PR19 .B32 1969
New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (NCBEL). 5 vols.
Reworking of older Cambridge bibliography... The standard bibliography in English literature; very important. Lists works by and about an author.

Ref PR83 .M78 1959
Library of Literary Criticism. 8 vols.
Covers period 680-1904, each volume divided by period. Excerpts from critical commentary and reference to source

Ref PR85 .C77
The Critical Temper. 5 vols.
Excerpts from 20th century criticism of English and American authors from the beginning to the 20th century. Essentially a supplement to Library of Literary Criticism.

Ref PR85 .B688 1979
British Writers. 8 vols., supplements.
Articles about author's time, life, and works. Bibliographies follow each article.

Ref PR311 .M34 1991
Guide to British Poetry Explication, vol. 1: Old English – Medieval; v. 2: Renaissance; v.3: Restoration – Romantic; v.4: Victorian – Contemporary.
Criticism from 1925 through the early 1990's.

Ref PR471.Z99 C75 1998
A Critical Bibliography of Twentieth-century Literature Studies. 4 vols.
A compilation of critical studies previously published in "The Year's Work in English Studies", 1954 - 1994.


American Writers

Ref PS3 .A47 1963 -
American Literary Scholarship: An Annual.
Covers current critical study of American literature. Bibliographic essays are arranged by writers and time periods, from pre-1800 to the present. Also online.

Ref PS129 .A55 1974
American Writers. 4 vols., supplements.
Articles about author's time, life, and works. Bibliographies follow each article.

Ref PS153.A84 A82 1999
Asian American Literature: Reviews and criticism of works by American writers of Asian descent.

Ref PS153 .N5 W756 2006
Writing African American women: an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color. 2 vols.
An encyclopedia that focuses on feminist and womanist approaches to African American literature.

Ref PS153.H56 L39 2004
Latino and Latina Writers
Articles about author's time, life and works. Bibliographies follow each article.

Ref. PS153 .N5 A344 2001
African American Writers
Articles about author's time, life, and works. Bibliographies follow each article.

Ref PS221 .L492 1954
Leary, Articles on American Literature, 1900-1950.
Bibliography of periodical articles, reviews and review articles. Continued by the two titles following below.

Ref PS221 .L492 1970
Leary, Articles on American Literature, 1950-1967.

Ref PS221 .L492 1979
Leary, Articles on American Literature, 1968-1975.

Ref PS225.Z99 C752 1998
A Critical Bibliography of American Literature Studies. 4 vols.
A compilaton of critical studies previously published in "The Year's work in English Studies", 1954 - 1994.

Ref PS303 .G74 2006
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry. 5 vols.
Includes essays on poets and poetry, and also on important movements, poetic theories, practices, and terms.


Women Writers

Ref PN471 .B57 1992
The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature.
Brings together information about writing by women from all periods and from the entire world. Essays covering various time periods and regions begin the book.

Ref PR111 .E54 1998
An Encyclopedia of British Women Writers. Rev. and expanded edition.
"…600 biographical-critical entries on a wide range of women writers, from the early centuries of writing identified with England up to the present day, who have a claim to being 'British'".

Ref PR111 .F45 1990b
The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers From the Middle Ages to the Present.
Brief biographical entries and brief entries of topics: genres, events, and institutions important in the development of women's writing.

Ref PR111 .S24 1999
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English.

Ref PR113 .B46 1990
A Biographical Dictionary of English women Writers 1580 – 1720.

Ref PR113 .D5 1985
A Dictionary of British and American Women writers 1660 – 1800.

Ref PS147 .O94 1995
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States. Also online.

Ref PS151 .M54 1990
Modern American Women Writers.
Critical and biographical essays about 41 representative women writers who have published in the United States since the 1870s.


Serial Abstracts, Bibliographies, and Indexes of Literature


MLA Bibliography (1921 - present)
Bibliography of books, periodical articles, dissertations, and festschriften for the entire field of modern languages and literatures.

Ref PE58 .E6
The Year's Work in English Studies. (1919 - ) Annual
Selective and evaluative bibliographic essays on the year's books and articles; author, subject index. Last 10 years in Ref, earlier years in stacks. Also available online.

Ref PE58 .M63
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. (1920 - 1997)
Citations for books, articles, essays in collections, dissertations, etc. Arranged by period; has index for authors, subjects and critics in back of volume. Also available online.

Ref PS3 .A47
American Literary Scholarship: An Annual. (1963 - ) Annual
American Literary Scholarship: An Annual. (1998 - ) Annual
Selective, evaluative survey of the year's important scholarship. Last 10 years in Ref, earlier years in stacks. Also online.

Literature Online (LION)
"A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources." Includes Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (See above).

Women Writers Online
"The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience…".


General Indexes

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for more than 4,600 scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,000 journals. Coverage is from 1975.

Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) (1975 - present)
A multidisciplinary electronic index of close to 1,150 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present)
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
1907-1919, known as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, supplement; 1920-1964, International Index; 1965 -1973, Social Sciences and Humanities Index. English language periodicals only. Library holdings begin with 1916.

Essay and General Literature Index (1900 - 1984)
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - ) Subject, author index to books of collected essays with emphasis in humanities and social sciences.

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Index Online (1665 - varies by title)
An index to millions of articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, PCI covers journals going back over 300 years.


Fulltext/Digital Facsimile Collections

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital images of the pages of books printed in English from 1475 to 1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital images of the pages of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Allows for fulltext searching of approximately 33 million pages.

Early American Imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Online version of the microfiche set Early American Imprints, 1639-1800

JSTOR
Contains digitized images of the complete archives of selected core scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. The searching capability allows for searching across disciplines.

Project Muse
Online access to more than 200 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains digitized pages from 8 major American newspapers. The New York Times is digitized from its beginning, 1851.

Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (1902 - 1990)
Contains searchable digitized images of book reviews that appeared in the Times Literary Supplement or TLS.


Single-author Bibliographies

Milton

John Milton: A Bibliography
Attempts to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works during the years 1624-1799.

Ref PR3581 .S84 1930
Stevens, Reference Guide to Milton, From 1800 to the Present Day. (1928)

Ref PR3581 .H83 1969
Huckabay, John Milton: An Annotated Bibliography 1929 - 1968.
Some listings annotated.

Ref PR3581 .H82 1996
Huckabay, John Milton : An Annotated Bibliography, 1968-1988.

Ref PR3581 .K57 1989
Klemp, The Essential Milton; An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies.
Covers "most significant Milton scholarship" published 1900 - 1987.

Bradstreet

PS712 .D65 1990
Anne Bradstreet, a Reference Guide

The Anne Bradstreet Archive

Taylor

PS153 .P87 G45 1971
Edward Taylor: an annotated bibliography, 1668-1970

Wheatley

PS153.N5 B547 1996
Black American women poets and dramatists

Dickinson

PS1541 .D83 1993
The poems of Emily Dickinson : an annotated guide to commentary published in English, 1978-1989

PS1541 .M96 1984
Emily Dickinson : a descriptive bibliography

Dickinson Electronic Archive

Whitman

Ref PS3231 .G52 2001
An Annotated Walt Whitman Bibliography, 1976-1985

Ref PS3231 K8 1982
Walt Whitman, 1940-1975 : a Reference Guide

Ref PS3238 G53 1981
Walt Whitman, 1838-1939 : a Reference Guide

The Walt Whitman Archive


Style Manuals

Ref PN147 .G444 1998
Gibaldi, MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 2nd edition.


Created by: Jack Levine, English Liaison & Laura Leibman, English Professor